top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMikayla Tackaberry

My journey through writing

Although writing has always been a passion of mine, newspaper class may have looked even better because it meant getting out of PE. I used that to propel me into the class, but I never knew I would find something I cared so much about.

I joined Journalism sophomore year and immediately fell in love with reporting people and their unique stories. When I joined newspaper staff the immediate conversation and discussion peaked my interest. I have loved listening to others point of view and perspectives on different topics and expanded my way of thinking.

Newspaper has been such an awesome outlet to put my thoughts and to have the chance for an audience. Performing in front of an audience has always been a passion of mine, but there is something so different about an audience of readers. The things you are writing are your own opinions and out in the public to either be criticized or agreed with.

Being in newspaper has allowed me to tell such happy stories and achievements but also the heartbreaking ones. Interviewing others to tell their stories has allowed me to sympathize and feel their pain during the process of writing.

Taking on the editor role in the class has improved my leadership skills greatly. I have gotten to help students with their articles and have an overall say of the paper in general.

When I stepped into Journalism class sophomore year, I knew no one and barely spoke. Who knew the conversations I would be having as an editor almost three years later. The growth has been tremendous and my writing skills have come a long way, and I feel proud of the articles I’ve written.

I want to thank Mrs. Rice for shaping my writing and love for telling stories as well as the newspaper staff for allowing me to be apart of something so special. My plans are to head to Olivet Nazarene University to study music education. I will definitely miss newspaper at CCA but am excited for other writing opportunities in the future and where I will end up.

Sincerely, Mikayla Tackaberry


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Buckle up

It’s so easy for teens to get into cars, and forget something as simple as buckling their seat belt. This easy but important step, takes at most three seconds but can be disregarded completely. Some m

bottom of page